Skip to Content



First Community Bank Names Dr. Mary Jones to its Camden Advisory Board

May 11, 2015 (Lexington, S.C.) – First Community Bank is pleased to announce that Dr. Mary Jones has joined its Camden Advisory Board. Created in 2006 when First Community Bank merged with the Bank of Camden, the Board works to enhance the bank’s community presence and outreach to local businesses.

Dr. Jones is a long-time Kershaw County resident known for her leadership in education having served in many roles from elementary school teacher to the Superintendent of Kershaw County Schools. She received her Doctorate of Education from the University of South Carolina and was involved in numerous professional organizations. She had the honor of being named the First Lady of Kershaw County and the Career Woman of the Year.

In addition to her professional accomplishments, Dr. Jones is an active volunteer throughout the community. Today she serves as a member of the South Carolina Arts Alliance and the Roundtable Leadership of Kershaw County. She has also volunteered with the American Cancer Association, the Lung Association, Heart Association, Lupus Foundation, and the Red Dress Campaign.

Dr. Jones currently works as an associate with Aflac Insurance. She joins other Camden Advisory Board members D. Edward Baxley, Jeffrey R. Graham, Paul Napper, Daniel D. Riddick, John C. West, Jr., and Sylvia U. Wood. 

First Community Bank, founded in 1995 and headquartered in Lexington, South Carolina, is a wholly owned subsidiary of First Community Corporation (NASDAQ: FCCO). First Community is a full service commercial bank offering deposit and loan products and services for businesses and consumers, residential mortgage lending, and financial planning/investment advisory services.  First Community has a network of 15 banking offices located in the Midlands of South Carolina, Aiken, South Carolina and Augusta, Georgia.